Skip to main content

Ohio State Marion: Library: Collections

Library website for Ohio State Marion Faculty, Staff and Students

Collections

Audio-Visual - located on the first floor near reference, it can be searched in the catalog  or by browsing the collection itself and can be checked out for one week.

Career Resource Center - consists of general books on making career choices, books on specific occupational fields, job hunting, resumes, and interviewing and can be checked out for six weeks; three weeks for Courtesy Borrowers.

Virginia Allen Children's Literature - collection of children's books for Pre-K through Young Adult. Located on the 2nd floor, they can be searched in the catalog and can be checked out for six weeks; three weeks for Courtesy Borrowers.

Music CD's - located next to the audio-visual collection in a filing cabinet. These can be searched in the catalog and can be checked out for one week.

Leisure Reading - nonacademic collection of New York Times bestsellers and is primarily for recreational reading. Located on  the second floor in the Leisure Reading Area, they are in the catalog and can be checked out for six weeks; three weeks for Courtesy Borrowers.

Reference -  a small collection of materials for checking quick facts, dictionaries, almanacs, encyclopedias, etc. Located across from the Circulation desk on the first floor, they are non-circulating. Many other reference-type materials are shelved with the regular collection and can be checked out.

Microfilm - rolls of microfilm for the newspapers New York Times and some years of the Marion Star. Located on the first floor near the microfilm reader, they are non-circulating. 

Wellness- A Marion Campus Library collection of titles designated for more non-academic use by students and intended to help students cope with all aspects of the student college experience.  It is located near the reference collection.

Cite-It-Right- collection of materials for student use when writing papers for course work and features materials for all styles of citations.  It is located across from the circulation desk and is non-circulating.

New Books

The library is regularly adding new materials to the collection to enhance the research of faculty and students.  There is a new materials list created each month listing what new titles have been added to the collection.  If you click on the link above it will take you to the latest additions to the library collection.

Other Available Resources

There are many ways to obtain valuable research materials at the Marion Campus Library.  Of course there are the library catalogs through which you can find both books owned by the Marion Campus as well as those of other Ohio State University libraries and OhioLINK member libraries.  There are also the databases that make it easy to find academic journal articles online.  Here at the Marion Campus Library we also have additional resources such as a periodical collection that includes journals in different academic disciplines.  

In addition to the periodicals, we also have an extensive pamphlet file which covers a wide variety of topics and a collection of sheet music, the Richard Myers Music Collection .