This is the "Welcome to Warner Library" page of the "John L. & Christine Warner Library" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

John L. & Christine Warner Library  

Last Updated: Mar 24, 2014 URL: http://osu.campusguides.com/warner_library_osun Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Welcome to Warner Library Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

OSU Libraries Catalog Quick Search

Advanced Search>>
 

WorldCat Local: Search Warner Library & Beyond

OhioLINK

Go to OhioLINK Electronic Journal Center (EJC) for online journals. 

Need help with OhioLink? Check out the EJC Help and Tips page.

OhioLINK logo

 

About OhioLink

 

Selected New Materials

Cover Art
America's public lands : from Yellowstone to Smokey Bear and beyond - Randall K. Wilson
Call Number: HD216 .W48 2014
ISBN: 9781442207974
Publication Date: 2014-04-18
The author explores the dramatic story of the origins of the public domain, including the century-long push toward privatization and the subsequent emergence of a national conservation ideal. Arguing that we cannot fully understand one type of public land without understanding its relation to the rest of the system, he provides in-depth accounts of the different types of public lands. Including chapters on national parks, national forests, wildlife refuges, Bureau of Land Management lands, and wilderness areas, Wilson examines key turning points and major policy debates for each land type. He considers questions of bison and elk management and recent disputes over fire policy, roadless areas, mining claims, and grazing fees. This comprehensive overview offers a chance to rethink our relationship with America s public lands, including what it says about the way we relate to, and value, nature in the United States."

Cover Art
Breaking through : using educational technology for children with special needs - Barbara Albers Hill
Call Number: LC4024 .H55 2014
ISBN: 9780757003950
Publication Date: 2014-04-01
While one-on-one therapy is certainly beneficial, for some children, the process of developing social skills, manual dexterity, and educational competency presents much more of a challenge. Fortunately, the introduction of new and easy-to-use technological devices has created a quiet revolution in the field of special education.

Cover Art
Computer : a history of the information machine - Martin Campbell-Kelly; William Aspray; Nathan Ensmenger; Jeffrey R. Yost
Call Number: QA76.17 .C36 2014
ISBN: 9780813345901
Publication Date: 2013-07-30
Computer: A History of the Information Machine traces the history of the computer and shows how business and government were the first to explore its unlimited, information-processing potential. Old-fashioned entrepreneurship combined with scientific know-how inspired now famous computer engineers to create the technology that became IBM. Wartime needs drove the giant ENIAC, the first fully electronic computer. Later, the PC enabled modes of computing that liberated people from room-sized, mainframe computers.This third edition provides updated analysis on software and computer networking, including new material on the programming profession, social networking, and mobile computing.

Cover Art
Einstein relatively simple : our universe revealed in everyday language - Ira Mark Egdall
Call Number: QC16.E5 E25 2014
ISBN: 9789814525589
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
Told with humor, enthusiasm, and rare clarity, this entertaining book reveals how a former high school drop-out revolutionized our understanding of space and time. From E=mc2 and everyday time travel to black holes and the big bang, Einstein Relatively Simple takes us all, regardless of our scientific backgrounds, on a mind-boggling journey through the depths of Einstein's universe. Along the way, we track Einstein through the perils and triumphs of his life follow his thinking, his logic, and his insights and chronicle the audacity, imagination, and sheer genius of the man recognized as the greatest scientist of the modern era.

Cover Art
Home sweat home : perspectives on housework and modern relationships - Elizabeth Patton (Editor); Mimi Choi (Editor)
Call Number: TX147 .H747 2014
ISBN: 9781442229693
Publication Date: 2014-01-23
In this collection of essays, contributors explore the construction of women as homemakers and the erasure of household labor from the middle-class home in popular representations of housework. They concentrate on such matters as the impact of second-wave feminism on families and gender relations; of popular culture especially in film, television, magazines, and advertising on our views of what constitutes home life and gender relations; and of changing views of sexuality and masculinity within the domestic sphere. Home Sweat Home will interest students and scholars of gender, cultural, media, and communication studies; sociology; and American history and appeal to anyone curious about housework, gender relations and popular culture."

Cover Art
International westerns : re-locating the frontier - Cynthia J. Miller (Editor); A. Bowdoin Van Riper (Editor)
Call Number: PN1995.9.W4 I57 2014
ISBN: 9780810892873
Publication Date: 2013-11-21
The Western tradition, with its well-worn tropes, readily identifiable characters, iconic landscapes, and evocative soundtracks, is not limited to the United States. Western, or Western-inspired films have played a part in the output of numerous national film traditions, including Asia, Central and Eastern Europe, and Latin America. In International Westerns: Re-Locating the Frontier, Cynthia J. Miller and A. Bowdoin Van Riper have assembled a collection of essays that explore the significance and meanings of these films, their roots in other media, and their reception in the national industries which gave them form.

Cover Art
Learning by Playing - Fran C. Blumberg (Editor)
Call Number: LB1028.3 .L3775 2014
ISBN: 9780199896646
Publication Date: 2014-04-07
There is a growing recognition in the learning sciences that video games can no longer be seen as impediments to education, but rather, they can be developed to enhance learning. Educational and developmental psychologists, education researchers, media psychologists, and cognitivepsychologists are now joining game designers and developers in seeking out new ways to use video game play in the classroom. In Learning by Playing, a diverse group of contributors provide perspectives on the most current thinking concerning the ramifications of leisure video game play for academic classroom learning.

Cover Art
Lunch - Megan Elias
Call Number: GT2960 .E45 2014
ISBN: 9781442227460
Publication Date: 2014-03-06
Exploring the rich history and culture of this most-observed and versatile meal, Lunch draws on a wide range of sources, from letters and memoirs to fiction, cookbooks, institutional records, art, and popular media, and from tea room menus to lunch truck Twitter feeds. Elias considers the history of lunch not only in America, but around the world to reveal the rich traditions and considerable changes this meal has influenced over the years.

Cover Art
Seeing Race in Modern America - Matthew Pratt Guterl
Call Number: E184.A1 G963 2013
ISBN: 9781469610689
Publication Date: 2013-11-04
Zooming out for the bigger picture, Guterl illuminates the long history of the practice of seeing--and believing in--race, and reveals that our troublesome faith in the details discerned by the discriminating glance is widespread and very popular. In so doing, he upends the possibility of a postracial society by revealing how deeply race is embedded in our culture, with implications that are often matters of life and death.

Cover Art
Still teaching in the key of life : joyful stories from early childhood settings - Mimi Brodsky Chenfeld
Call Number: LB1775.2 .C44 2014
ISBN: 9781938113017
Publication Date: 2013-11-01
Early childhood educators face many challenges and stresses today. This heartwarming collection of 20 stories by Mimi Brodsky Chenfeld will help you remember why you became a teacher and why what you do every day is so important in the lives of young children. You’ll read about classrooms filled with joy, laughter, love, and a celebration of learning.

Cover Art
The Archive Effect: Found Footage and the Audiovisual Experience of History - Jaimie Baron
Call Number: PN1995.9.S6964 B37 2014
ISBN: 9780415660723
Publication Date: 2014-02-14
The Archive Effect: Found Footage and the Audiovisual Experience of History examines the problems of representation inherent in the appropriation of archival film and video footage for historical purposes. Baron analyses the way in which the meanings of archival documents are modified when they are placed in new texts and contexts, constructing the viewer's experience of and relationship to the past they portray.

Cover Art
The compatibility gene : how our bodies fight disease, attract others, and define our selves - Daniel M. Davis
Call Number: RB155 .D36 2014
ISBN: 9780199316410
Publication Date: 2013-10-01
The Compatibility Gene takes readers on a global journey of discovery spanning 60 years, involving scores of scientists, and encompassing the history of transplants and immunology. That journey has revealed astonishing links between who we are as individuals and our never-ceasing struggle to survive disease.

Cover Art
The Power of Our Words - Paula Denton
Call Number: LB1033.5 .D46 2014
ISBN: 9781892989598
Publication Date: 2013-11-13
Simple changes in a teacher's language can bring about profound changes in students and classrooms. This updated second edition includes increased emphasis on using teacher language to support academic engagement while building an encouraging and positive classroom community.

Cover Art
The Watchdog That Didn't Bark - Dean Starkman
Call Number: HB3722 .S792 2014
ISBN: 9780231158183
Publication Date: 2014-01-07
Starkman frames his analysis in a broad argument about journalism itself, dividing the profession into two competing approaches -- access reporting and accountability reporting -- which rely on entirely different sources and produce radically different representations of reality. As Starkman explains, access journalism came to dominate business reporting in the 1990s, a process he calls "CNBCization," and rather than examining risky, even corrupt, corporate behavior, mainstream reporters focused on profiling executives and informing investors. Starkman concludes with a critique of the digital-news ideology and corporate influence, which threaten to further undermine investigative reporting, and he shows how financial coverage, and journalism as a whole, can reclaim its bite.

Cover Art
Twenty-First-Century Fiction - Peter Boxall
Call Number: PR889 .B69 2013
ISBN: 9781107006911
Publication Date: 2013-06-24
The widespread use of electronic communication at the dawn of the twenty-first century has created a global context for our interactions, transforming the ways we relate to the world and to one another. This critical introduction reads the fiction of the past decade as a response to our contemporary predicament – one that draws on new cultural and technological developments to challenge established notions of democracy, humanity, and national and global sovereignty. Peter Boxall traces formal and thematic similarities in the novels of contemporary writers including Don DeLillo, Margaret Atwood, J. M. Coetzee, Marilynne Robinson, Cormac McCarthy, W. G. Sebald and Philip Roth, as well as David Mitchell, Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, Dave Eggers, Ali Smith, Amy Waldman and Roberto Bolao. In doing so, Boxall maps new territory for scholars, students and interested readers of today's literature by exploring how these authors narrate shared cultural life in the new century.

Cover Art
Wonder Woman Unbound : the Curious History of the World's Most Famous Heroine - Tim Hanley
Call Number: PN6728.W6 H34 2014
ISBN: 9781613749098
Publication Date: 2014-04-01
Exploring this lost history adds new dimensions to the world’s most beloved female character, and Wonder Woman Unbound delves into her comic book and its spin-offs as well as the myriad motivations of her creators to showcase the peculiar journey that led to Wonder Woman’s iconic status.

 

Contact Us:

John L. & Christine Warner Library
Ohio State University Newark
1179 University Dr.
Newark, OH 43055
 
For Reference Help:
740-366-9306
740-366-9308
 
Call Us:
Circulation: 740:366-9307
Serials: 740-755-7719
Administration: 740-364-9513
 

Ask Us

We are online during library hours.

 

Connect with Us

Keep up on Libraries events and exhibits on our Facebook site.    
 

Tell Us What You Think

It's important to us that we provide the best information on this topic. Please leave your comments, good or bad, and suggestions for additions to this page.

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip