Life upon these shores : looking at African American history, 1513-2008
Call Number: E185 .G27 2011
Publication Date: 2011-11-22
Henry Louis Gates, Jr., gives us a sumptuously illustrated landmark book tracing African American history from the arrival of the conquistadors to the election of Barack Obama. Informed by the latest, sometimes provocative scholarship and including more than seven hundred images--ancient maps, fine art, documents, photographs, cartoons, posters--"Life Upon These Shores" focuses on defining events, debates, and controversies, as well as the signal achievements of people famous and obscure.
Valuing Historic Environments
Call Number: CC135 .V35 2009
Publication Date: 2009-05-28
This volume brings together an interdisciplinary team of leading scholars to discuss frameworks of value in relation to the preservation of historic environments. It critically analyses the various conceptions of value in terms of heritage and shows the c
The Story of the Human Body
Call Number: QP38 .L74 2013
Publication Date: 2013-10-01
In this landmark book of popular science, Daniel E. Lieberman-chair of the department of human evolutionary biology at Harvard University and a leader in the field-gives us a lucid and engaging account of how the human body evolved over millions of years, even as it shows how the increasing disparity between the jumble of adaptations in our Stone Age bodies and advancements in the modern world is occasioning this paradox: greater longevity but increased chronic disease. The Story of the Human Body brilliantly illuminates as never before the major transformations that contributed key adaptations to the body: the rise of bipedalism; the shift to a non-fruit-based diet; the advent of hunting and gathering, leading to our superlative endurance athleticism; the development of a very large brain; and the incipience of cultural proficiencies.
It gets better : coming out, overcoming bullying, and creating a life worth living
Call Number: HQ76.27.Y68 I74 2012
Publication Date: 2012-01-25
Every story can change a life. Growing up isn't easy. Many young people face daily tormenting and bullying, and this is especially true for LGBT kids and teens. In response to a number of tragic suicides by LGBT students, syndicated columnist and author Dan Savage uploaded a video to YouTube with his partner, Terry Miller. Speaking openly about the bullying they suffered, and how they both went on to lead rewarding adult lives, their video launched the It Gets Better Project YouTube channel and initiated a worldwide phenomenon. It Gets Betteris a collection of original essays and expanded testimonials written to teens from celebrities, political leaders, and everyday people, because while many LGBT teens can't see a positive future for themselves, we can.
Call Number: HV6432 .B846 2013 c.2
Publication Date: 2012-10-19
"Homeland Security: The Essentials "sets a new standard for security textbooks, concisely outlining the risks facing the US today and the structures we have put in place to deal with them. The authors expertly delineate the bedrock principles of preparing for, mitigating, managing, and recovering from emergencies and disasters.
Quality and Safety in Nursing
Call Number: RT85. 5 .Q24 2012
Publication Date: 2012-05-01
"Quality and Safety in Nursing: A Competency Approach to Improving Outcomes" is the first comprehensive text of its kind devoted to the nursing community's role in improving quality of care and patient safety. Edited by key members of the Quality and Safety Education for Nursing (QSEN) steering team, the book brings together information from various loci and expertly situates it within the continuum of nursing education and practice.
Girls and Their Comics
Call Number: PN6725 .D196 2013
Publication Date: 2012-11-21
In America, comics and comic books have often been associated with adolescent male fantasy--muscle-bound superheroes and scantily clad women. Nonetheless, comics have also been read and enjoyed by girls. While there have been many strong representations of women throughout their history, the comics of today have evolved and matured, becoming a potent medium in which to explore the female experience, particularly that of girlhood and adolescence. In Girls and Their Comics: Finding a Female Voice in Comic Book Narrative, Jacqueline Danziger-Russell contends that comics have a unique place in the representation of female characters. She discusses the overall history of the comic book, paying special attention to girls' comics, showing how such works relate to a female point of view. While examining the concept of visual literacy, Danziger-Russell asserts that comics are an excellent space in which the marginalized voices of girls may be expressed.
Call Number: GT2955 .L48 2013
Publication Date: 2013-11-26
Picnics are happy occasions and have always been a diversion from every day cares. We think of the picnic as an outdoor meal, set on a blanket, usually in the middle of the day, featuring a hamper filled with tasty morsels and perhaps a bottle of wine, but historically picnics came in many forms, served any time of the day. This first culinary history reveals rustic outdoor dining in its more familiar and unusual forms, the history of the word itself, the cultural context of picnics and who arranged them, and, most important, the gastronomic appeal. Drawing on various media and literature, painting, music, and even sculpture, Walter Levy provides an engaging and enlightening history of the picnic.
Wet Britches and Muddy Boots
Call Number: HE203 .W45 2012
Publication Date: 2012-11-01
What was travel like in the 1880s? Was it easy to get from place to place? Were the rides comfortable? How long did journeys take? Wet Britches and Muddy Boots describes all forms of public transport from canal boats to oceangoing vessels, passenger trains to the overland stage. Trips over long distances often involved several modes of transportation and many days, even weeks. Baggage and sometimes even children were lost en route. Travelers might start out with a walk down to the river to meet a boat for the journey to a town where they caught a stagecoach for the rail junction to catch the train for a ride to the city. John H. White Jr. discusses not only the means of travel but also the people who made the system run-riverboat pilots, locomotive engineers, stewards, stagecoach drivers, seamen. He provides a fascinating glimpse into a time when travel within the United States was a true adventure.
Call Number: HD57.7 .W3355 2010
Publication Date: 2010-09-21
Recent polls show that 71% of workers think about quitting their jobs every day. That number would be shocking-if people actually were quitting. Worse, they go to work, punching time clocks and collecting pay checks, while completely checked out emotionally. In Reality-Based Leadership, expert Fast Company blogger Cy Wakeman reveals how to be the kind of leader who changes the way people think about and perceive their circumstances-one who deals with the facts, clarifies roles, gives clear and direct feedback, and insists that everyone do the same-without drama or defensiveness. Filled with dynamic examples, innovative tools, and diagnostic tests, this book shows you how to become a Reality-Based Leader, revealing how to: Uncover destructive thought patterns with yourself and others Diffuse drama and lead the person in front of you Stop managing and start leading, empowering others to focus on facts and think for themselves Equipped with a facts-based, confident approach, you will free yourself from the frustrations you face at work and transform yourself into a Reality-Based Leader, with the ability to liberate and inspire others.
LinkedIn in 30 Minutes
Call Number: HD69.S8 P56 2013
Publication Date: 2013-06-01
If you're serious about taking your career to the next level, you need to be on LinkedIn. In "LinkedIn In 30 Minutes," author Melanie Pinola will show you how to make a rock-solid LinkedIn profile and expand your network.
Essentials of the Reid technique : criminal interrogation and confessions
Call Number: HV8073.3 .I53 2014
Publication Date: 2013-09-04
The Updated Second Edition Of Best-Selling Essentials Of The Reid Technique: Criminal Interrogation And Confessions Teaches Readers How To Identify And Interpret Verbal And Nonverbal Behaviors Of Both Deceptive And Truthful People, And How To Move Toward Obtaining Solid Confessions From Guilty Persons. The Reid Technique Is Built Around Basic Psychological Principles And Presents Interrogation As An Easily Understood Nine-Step Process. Separated Into Two Parts, What You Need To Know About Interrogation And Employing The Reid Nine Steps Of Interrogation, This Book Will Help Readers Understand The Effective And Proper Way That A Suspect Should Be Interrogated And The Safeguards That Should Be In Place To Ensure The Integrity Of The Confession.
Call Number: R724 .M2925 2014
Publication Date: 2013-08-26
"The second edition of Medical Ethics deals accessibly with a broad range of significant issues in bioethics, and presents the reader with the latest developments. This new edition has been greatly revised and updated, with half of the sections written specifically for this new volume. An accessible introduction for beginners, offering a combination of important established essays and new essays commissioned especially for this volume. Greatly revised - half of the selections are new to this edition, including two essays on genetic enhancement and a section on gender, race and culture. Includes new material on ethical theory as a grounding for understanding the ethical dimensions of medicine and healthcare.
Tintinalli's Emergency Medicine
Call Number: RC86.7 .C49 2013
Publication Date: 2012-11-13
This authoritative study guide includes radiographs, color images, line drawings, and ECGs, all designed to enhance your understanding of the material and help you meet the challenges of visual diagnosis in practice and exam situations. Features Updated to reflect the latest advances in diagnostic imaging NEW CHAPTERS on Hematologic-Oncologic Emergencies, Renal Emergencies in Children, Low Probability Coronary Syndromes, Urinary Retention, Food and Water-Borne Diseases, and World Travelers Increased coverage of toxicology and trauma More than 300 tables encapsulate important information More than 100 radiographs/color images and 90 line drawings/ECGs aid recognition of challenging and life-threatening disorders Provides a brief yet comprehensive review of the practice of emergency medicine for clinicians who wish to update their knowledge of the specialty
How to Write a Paper
Call Number: R119 .H69 2013
Publication Date: 2012-12-26
This concise paperback is one of the best known guides to writing a paper for publication in biomedical journals. Its straightforward format - a chapter covering each of part of the structured abstract - makes it relevant and easy to use for any novice paper writer. "How to Write a Paper" addresses the mechanics of submission, including electronic submission, and how publishers handle papers, writing letters to journals abstracts for scientific meetings, and assessing papers. This new edition also covers how to write a book review and updated chapters on ethics, electronic publication and submission, and the movement for open access.
Rhetorics of Motherhood
Call Number: P120.W66 B83 2013
Publication Date: 2013-04-08
Becoming a mother profoundly alters one's perception of the world, as Lindal Buchanan learned firsthand when she gave birth. Suddenly attentive to representations of mothers and mothering in advertisements, fiction, film, art, education, and politics, she became intrigued by the persuasive force of the concept of motherhood, an interest that unleashed a host of questions: How is the construct defined? How are maternal appeals crafted, presented, and performed? What do they communicate about gender and power? How do they affect women? Her quest for answers has produced "Rhetorics of Motherhood," the first book-length consideration of the topic through a feminist rhetorical lens.
Netiquette and Online Ethics
Call Number: TK5105.878 .N48 2013
Publication Date: 2013-05-17
What is the relationship between the Internet and civility? -- Is cyberbullying a serious problem? -- What are the etiquette and ethics of online relationships? -- What are the etiquette and ethics of social media?