Working in biosafety level 3 and 4 laboratories: a practical introduction
Publication Date: 2013-10-28
The first training manual for new staff working in BSL3/4 labs. This guide is based on a course developed in 2007 by the EU COST action group 28b which serves as a standard for many courses BSL3/4 training courses worldwide. The four-day course consists of lectures and practical training with the lecturers covering all the different possibilities of organising a BSL-3/4 lab including the adaptation to the local requirements of biosafety, safety at work, and social regulations. This book covers bio-containment, hazard criteria and categorisation of microbes, technical specifications of BSL-3 laboratories and ABSL-3 laboratories, personal protective gear, shipping BSL-3 and BSL-4 organisms according to UN and IATA regulations, efficacy of inactivation procedures, fumigation, learning from a history of lab accidents, handling samples that arrive for diagnostic testing and bridging the gap between the requirements of bio-containment and diagnostics. Course participants can not only use the book for their actual training event but it will remain a useful reference throughout their career in BSL3/4 labs.
Handbook of Biopolymers and Biodegradable Plastics
Publication Date: 2012-09-19
Biopolymers and Biodegradable Plastics are a hot issue across the Plastics industry, and for many of the industry sectors that use plastic, from packaging to medical devices and from the construction indusry to the automotive sector. This book brings together a number of key biopolymer and biodegradable plastics topics in one place for a broad audience of engineers and scientists, especially those designing with biopolymers and biodegradable plastics, or evaluating the options for switching from traditional plastics to biopolymers. Topics covered include preparation, fabrication, applications and recycling (including biodegradability and compostability). Applications in key areas such as films, coatings controlled release and tissue engineering are discussed. Dr Ebnesajjad provides readers with an in-depth reference for the plastics industry - material suppliers and processors, bio-polymer producers, bio-polymer processors and fabricators - and for industry sectors utilizing biopolymers - automotive, packaging, construction, wind turbine manufacturers, film manufacturers, adhesive and coating industries, medical device manufacturers, biomedical engineers, and the recycling industry. Essential information and practical guidance for engineers and scientists working with bioplastics, or evaluating a migration to bioplastics. Includes key published material on biopolymers, updated specifically for this Handbook, and new material including coverage of PLA and Tissue Engineering Scaffolds. Coverage of materials and applications together in one handbook enables engineers and scientists to make informed design decisions.
Ecosystem Services and Carbon Sequestration in the Biosphere
Publication Date: 2013-06-11
Ecological functions and human wellbeing depend on ecosystem services. Among the ecosystem services are provisional (food, feed, fuel, fiber), regulating (carbon sequestration, waste recycling, water cleansing), cultural (aesthetic, recreational, spiritual), and supporting services (soil formation, photosynthesis, nutrient cycling). Many relationships of various degree exist among ecosystem services. Thus, land use and soil management to enhance biospheric carbon sinks for carbon sequestration requires a comprehensive understanding on the effects on ecosystem services. Payments for ecosystem services including carbon pricing must address the relationship between carbon sequestration and ecosystem services to minimize risks of overshoot, and promote sustainable use of land-based carbon sinks for human wellbeing.
Biofuel Crop Sustainability
Publication Date: 2013-08-05
The principles of sustainable agriculture have been expounded for centuries. The recognition of the need to produce crops in a way that will ensure continued cultivation and reliable food and fuel sources over decades and centuries has never been greater. As the biofuels industry continues to develop, increased scrutiny is being paid to production practices of biomass crops. Biofuel Crop Sustainability serves as a timely collection of the latest research on sustainable strategies and practices in a time of increased demand and competition for arable lands. Biofuel Crop Sustainability is a broad-ranging reference written by leading researchers in the biofuels community. The book opens with chapters that explore sustainability issues around specific families of biomass crops, such as grains, oilseed crops, grasses, and canes. The final chapters look more broadly at issues common to all biofuel crop production. These chapters cover critical topics like nutrient management, maintaining soil quality, and food versus fuel production issues. Providing timely coverage of an increasingly critical issue, Biofuel Crop Sustainability will be an essential volume for crop scientists, biofuels researchers, agroecologists, and others looking at the issue of agricultural sustainability. Book jacket.
Ecology and Management of Forest Soils
Publication Date: 2013-01-22
Forest soils are the foundation of the entire forest ecosystem and complex, long-term interactions between trees, soil animals, and the microbial community shape soils in was that are very distinct from agricultural soils. The composition, structure, and processes in forest soils at any given time reflect current conditions, as well as the legacies of decades (and even millennia) of interactions that shape each forest soil. Reciprocal interactions are fundamental; vegetation alters soil physical properties, which influence soil biology and chemistry, which in turn influence the growth and success of plants. These dynamic systems may be strongly influenced by intentional and unintentional management, ranging from fire to fertilization. Sustaining the long-term fertility of forest soils depends on insights about a diverse array of soil features and changes over space and time. Since the third edition of this successful book many new interests in forest soils and their management have arisen, including the role of forest soils in sequestering carbon, and how management influences rates of carbon accumulation. This edition also expands the consideration of how soils are sampled and characterized, and how tree species differ in their influence on soil development. Clearly structured throughout, the book opens with the origins of forest soil science and ends with the application of soil science principles to land management. This new edition provides: A completely revised and updated Fourth Edition of this classic textbook in the field A coherent overview of the major issues surrounding the ecology and management of forest soils Global in scope with coverage of soil types ranging from the tropical rainforest soils of Latin America to the boreal forest soils of Siberia New chapters on Management: Carbon sequestration; Evidence-based approaches and applications of geostatistics, GIS and taxonomies A clear overview of each topic, informative examples/case studies, and an overall context for helping readers think clearly about forest soils An introduction to the literature of forest soil science and to the philosophy of forest soil science research This coherent overview of the major issues surrounding the ecology and management of forest soils will be particularly useful to students taking courses in soil science, forestry, agronomy, ecology, natural resource management, environmental management and conservation, as well as professionals in forestry dealing with the productivity of forests and functioning of watersheds.
Publication Date: 2013-01-14
Additional resources for this book can be found at: www.wiley.com/go/vandermaarelfranklin/vegetationecology. Vegetation Ecology, 2nd Edition is a comprehensive, integrated account of plant communities and their environments. Written by leading experts in their field from four continents, the second edition of this book: covers the composition, structure, ecology, dynamics, diversity, biotic interactions and distribution of plant communities, with an emphasis on functional adaptations; reviews modern developments in vegetation ecology in a historical perspective; presents a coherent view on vegetation ecology while integrating population ecology, dispersal biology, soil biology, ecosystem ecology and global change studies; tackles applied aspects of vegetation ecology, including management of communities and invasive species; includes new chapters addressing the classification and mapping of vegetation, and the significance of plant functional types Vegetation Ecology, 2nd Edition is aimed at advanced undergraduates, graduates and researchers and teachers in plant ecology, geography, forestry and nature conservation. Vegetation Ecology takes an integrated, multidisciplinary approach and will be welcomed as an essential reference for plant ecologists the world over.
Sustainable Dairy Production
Publication Date: 2013-04-01
This book offers a comprehensive overview of the state of the art in sustainable dairy production, helping the industry to develop more sustainable dairy products, through new technologies, implementing life cycle analysis, and upgrading and optimization of their current production lines. It aims to stimulate process innovations, taking into account environmental, economic and public relations benefits for companies. Topics covered include: How to set up a sustainable production line How to quantify the carbon foot print of a dairy product by using life cycle analysis Current technologies to improve the carbon foot print What measures can be taken to reduce the global warming potential of the farm Reduction of water use in dairy production Marketing sustainable dairy products Bench marking of dairy products against other food products Potential future technological developments to improve the carbon foot print for the following decades
Publication Date: 2013-04-22
Weeds affect everyone in the world by reducing crop yield and crop quality, delaying or interfering with harvesting, interfering with animal feeding (including poisoning), reducing animal health, preventing water flow, as plant parasites, etc. Weeds are common everywhere and cause many $ billions worth of crop losses annually, with the global cost of controlling weeds running into $ billions. The anatomy of plants is generally well understood, but the examples used for explanations in most books are often restricted to non-weed species. Weeds have many features that make them more competitive, for example enabling them to more quickly recover after herbicide treatment. Some of these adaptations include rhizomes, adapted roots, tubers and other special structures. Until now, no single book has concentrated on weeds' anatomical features. A comprehensive understanding of these features is, however, often imperative to the successful implementation of many weed control measures. Beautifully and comprehensively illustrated, in full colour throughout, Weed Anatomy provides a comprehensive insight into the anatomy of the globally-important weeds of commercial significance. Commencing with a general overview of anatomy, the major part of the book then includes sections covering monocotyledons, dicotyledons, brackens and horsetails, with special reference to their anatomy. Ecological and evolutionary aspects of weeds are also covered and a number of less common weeds such as Adonis vernalis, Caucalis platycarpos and Scandix pecten-veneris are also included. The authors of this book, who have between them many years of experience studying weeds, have put together a true landmark publication, providing a huge wealth of commercially-important information. Weed scientists, plant anatomists and agricultural scientists, including personnel within the agrochemical and crop protection industry, will find a great deal of useful information within the book's covers. All libraries in universities and research establishments where agricultural and biological sciences are studied and taught should have copies of this exceptional book on their shelves.
Measurements for Terrestrial Vegetation
Publication Date: 2013-06-04
Measurements for Terrestrial Vegetation, 2nd Edition presents up- to-date methods for analyzing species frequency, plant cover, density and biomass data. Each method is presented in detail with a full discussion of its strengths and weaknesses from field applications through statistical characteristics of bias and use of the correct probability distribution to describe and analyze data. This practical book also covers the use of satellite imagery to obtain measurement data on cover, density and biomass. Field data collection includes current applications of statistical sampling and analysis designs that should be used to obtain and analyze these data. This new and thoroughly updated edition of a classic text will be essential reading for everyone involved in measuring and assessing vegetation and plant biomass, including researchers and practitioners in vegetation science, plant ecology, forestry, global change scientists and conservation scientists. * Provides a comprehensive catalogue of sampling, surveying and measuring techniques in vegetation science * Updated to include new technologies and developments in the field * New coverage of prediction models for large areas, including satellite mapping and remote sensing techniques * Includes up-to-date applications of statistical sampling and analysis designs used to obtain and analyse data Reviews the strengths and weaknesses of each technique, allowing an informed choice of alternative approaches * Clear diagrams to explain best-practice in methodology The companion website for this book can be found at www.wiley.com/go/bonham/measurements
Data Analysis in Vegetation Ecology
Publication Date: 2013-05-28
The first edition of Data Analysis in Vegetation Ecology provided an accessible and thorough resource for evaluating plant ecology data, based on the author's extensive experience of research and analysis in this field. Now, the Second Edition expands on this by not only describing how to analyse data, but also enabling readers to follow the step-by-step case studies themselves using the freely available statistical package R. The addition of R in this new edition has allowed coverage of additional methods for classification and ordination, and also logistic regression, GLMs, GAMs, regression trees as well as multinomial regression to simulate vegetation types. A package of statistical functions, specifically written for the book, covers topics not found elsewhere, such as analysis and plot routines for handling synoptic tables. All data sets presented in the book are now also part of the R package 'dave', which is freely available online at the R Archive webpage. The book and data analysis tools combined provide a complete and comprehensive guide to carrying out data analysis students, researchers and practitioners in vegetation science and plant ecology. Summary: A completely revised and updated edition of this popular introduction to data analysis in vegetation ecology Now includes practical examples using the freely available statistical package 'R' Written by a world renowned expert in the field Complex concepts and operations are explained using clear illustrations and case studies relating to real world phenomena Highlights both the potential and limitations of the methods used, and the final interpretations Gives suggestions on the use of the most widely used statistical software in vegetation ecology and how to start analysing data Praise for the first edition: "This book will be a valuable addition to the shelves of early postgraduate candidates and postdoctoral researchers. Through the excellent background material and use of real world examples, Wildi has taken the fear out of trying to understand these much needed data analysis techniques in vegetation ecology." Austral Ecology
Publication Date: 2013-06-24
Bioenergy and biofuels are generated from a wide variety of feedstock. Fuels have been converted from a wide range of sources from vegetable oils to grains and sugarcane. Second generation biofuels are being developed around dedicated, non-food energy crops, such as switchgrass and Miscanthus, with an eye toward bioenergy sustainability. Bioenergy Feedstocks: Breeding and Genetics looks at advances in our understanding of the genetics and breeding practices across this diverse range of crops and provides readers with a valuable tool to improve cultivars and increase energy crop yields. Bioenergy Feedstocks: Breeding and Genetics opens with chapters focusing primarily on advances in the genetics and molecular biology of dedicated energy crops. These chapters provide in-depth coverage of new, high-potential feedstocks. The remaining chapters provide valuable overview of breeding efforts of current feedstocks with specific attention paid to the development of bioenergy traits. Coverage in these chapters includes crops such as sorghum, energy canes, corn, and other grasses and forages. The final chapters explore the role of transgenics in bioenergy feedstock production and the development of low-input strategies for producing bioenergy crops. A timely collection of work from a global team of bioenergy researchers and crop scientists, Bioenergy Feedstocks: Breeding and Genetics is an essential reference on cultivar improvement of biomass feedstock crops.
Ecosystem Services in Agricultural and Urban Landscapes
Publication Date: 2013-04-01
Ecosystem services are the resources and processes supplied by natural ecosystems which benefit humankind (for example, pollination of crops by insects, or water filtration by wetlands). They underpin life on earth, provide major inputs to many economic sectors and support our lifestyles. Agricultural and urban areas are by far the largest users of ecosystems and their services and (for the first time) this book explores the role that ecosystem services play in these managed environments. The book also explores methods of evaluating ecosystem services, and discusses how these services can be maintained and enhanced in our farmlands and cities. This book will be useful to students and researchers from a variety of fields, including applied ecology, environmental economics, agriculture and forestry, and also to local and regional planners and policy makers.