Skip to main content

Searching the Web and Databases: Databases & Online Journals

Resources for learning to search the web efficiently and with better results.

Research Databases

To locate databases by subject (or by title) use the Research Databases List page.

You can also locate specific journal titles through OSU LIbraries with the Online Journals List.

Or, do a multidatabase search using Worldcat@OSU or Google Scholar (see the Google Scholar page).

Ohio State University Libraries has many helpful subject research guides; these are highly recommended to enhance your searching in a specific field (i.e., sociology).

Note: To generate a list of library databases in a specific subject area on the Research Databases List go to the box on the right and find the subject you want, i. e. education.  Click to highlight it.  On the next page you will get a list of the databases that either OSU or OhioLINK subscribe to that are related to that subject.  The little description under the link to the database will indicate whether it is a source of periodical articles or something else. For more of a complete description, go to the right side of the list and click on About Resource.

Finding Articles and Using the Databases

Databases provide you with access to a wide range of articles that can be used as resources for your paper.  When searching in the database, keep in mind the terms listed below.  They will assist you in navigating the databases and locating resources.

  •   "Full Text": By selecting the full text box in a database, you are ensuring that the database will only retrieve articles that are available in their complete format.  If you do not select the full text box, you will still receive results, but you may only receive the citations.
  •   Scholarly (Peer-Reviewed) Journals:  Articles that are submitted to a scholarly journal must first be evaluated by an editorial team for the journal.  This team reviews the article in order to verify that the research is authentic.  If you know that you must use scholarly journals for your assignment, you should select this box.
  •    Abstract:  An abstract is a short summary, detailing the main idea of a journal article.  Searching within the abstracts of articles can assist you in locating information that is pertinent to your topic.

Where do I start?

Where do I start?

A great place to start your search is in Academic Search Complete.

This database is provided by EBSCO and it will therefore allow you to search in other EBSCO databases at the same time if you utilize the "choose databases" feature of the search bar.

Ebsco Choose databases

This feature makes it very easy to switch or combine with a multi-subject database like Academic Search Complete with more specific databases like CINAHL, a nursing database.

Keep in mind that you have access to many other databases that aren't provided by EBSCO. Check the Research Databases List page for more options.

Want to learn more about searching in Academic Search Complete? Check the links below.

Librarian

Vanessa Kraps's picture
Vanessa Kraps
Contact:
124 Bromfield Library and Information Commons
Conard Hall
1660 University Drive
Mansfield, OH 44906
419-755-4326