Skip to main content

Ohio State Marion: Marion Campus Library Visitors Guide: Home

Welcome to the Marion Campus Library of The Ohio State University and Marion Technical College! The library is located in the Library/Classroom Building.  It is jointly used by the students, faculty, and staff of Ohio State University at Marion and Marion Technical College but is also open to the community at large.

NOTE: If you are an Ohio State University at Marion student, click here

  

 1469 Mt. Vernon Ave.

  Marion, OH 43302

  740-725-6254

 

      News Blog

 

      Contact Us

Hours

August 22nd, 2017- December 22nd, 2017
Monday-Thursday     8am-8pm
Friday                        8am-5pm
Saturday-Sunday   Closed

The library will be closed for the holiday on 9/4, 11/10, 11/23, and 11/24.

The library will close at noon on 11/22/17

Gifts and Donations

Money donated to purchase library materials in memoriam is welcome. Contact the library director if you wish to make a contribution or a donation. Gifts are accepted at the discretion of the library director.

Lost and Found

Personal items that have been left in the library and turned into the staff are held at the circulation desk for one semester then transferred to the central Lost and Found area at Maynard Hall.

General Information

The Marion Campus Library collections includes a large circulating collection of books, periodicals, media, leisure reading and other materials.  In addition, the library houses special collections in careers, children's literature, reference, wellness and the Warren G. Harding/Norman Thomas Research Collection.  

Those who are not currently faculty, staff or students at Ohio State Marion or Marion Technical College may register for courtesy user privileges (See Borrowing Options below). 

Many resources are now electronic.  We are part of the statewide library system, OhioLINK, as well as the Ohio State University Libraries.  The Marion Campus Library provides an electronic environment which includes both the Ohio State University and OhioLINK catalogs.  They provide access to not only print materials, but also to databases and electronic resources.  Remote access for the electronic databases and full-text resources is not available for courtesy borrowers.

Borrowing Options (Click a tab to learn more)

Marion Local Courtesy Borrower option is open to the community at large.  Patrons who would like to check out the Prairie Exploration Backpacks (an activity available to the community) can sign up for the Marion Local Courtesy Card Borrower.

  • Privileges include borrowing books and periodicals at the Marion Campus only; there is no Interlibrary Loan available.
  • Materials cannot be requested from other OSU libraries or OhioLINK institutions.
  • Borrowers are limited to 5 items checked out at any one time. Items may be renewed unless a hold has been placed on the item by another library patron.
  • A photo ID (State Issued Driver’s License or State Issued ID) is required to register, as well as completion of the Local Courtesy User Registration form.
  • There is no charge to register and privileges are valid for one year from date of registration.
  • Borrowers can check out two items when  first registering for a card.
  • Borrowers must present their Courtesy Card to check out and  is responsible for all materials checked out on the card.

System Courtesy Borrowers are either:

  • OSU Alumni: Ohio State University graduates who are paying members of the Alumni Society.
  • Program 60 students: Ohio residents age 60 or older who take advantage of free courses offered on any of the OSU campuses.
  • OSU Alumni Members will have an Alumni Card issued to them that must be current.
    • To register for an Alumni Courtesy Card the patron must present their Alumni Card and fill out the System Courtesy Card Registration Form.
    • Staff will then add them to the library system.
    • These patrons are able to request materials from other Ohio State University Libraries up to 10 items ( example: 5 Ohiolink and 5 OSU items.)
    • They will be issued a gray Ohio State University Courtesy Card that can be used at any OSU location.
  • Program 60 students only have privileges through the semester that they are registered for classes.
    • If they don't have a BuckID, they will need to have one made in the Alber Student Center.
    • Once they have completed the System Courtesy Card Registration Form and have been put in the system, Program 60 patrons will use there BuckID to checkout materials.
    • Program 60 students can checkout up to 10 items ( example: 5 Ohiolink and 5 OSU items).
    • They must present a BuckID to receive library borrowing privileges.

Another option for community members is the State Library of Ohio

  • It is important to know that any Ohio Resident can register online for a State Library of Ohio card.
  • If you are someone who would like access to other OSU and Ohiolink materials, you can become a State Library of Ohio member.
  • State Library of Ohio patrons can check out 5 materials through Ohiolink.
  • State Library of Ohio members must present their State Library of Ohio card when they check out Pickup Anywhere materials.
  • For more information about State Library of Ohio cards: visit the Access & Privileges page on the State Library of Ohio.
Loading

Searching the Catalogs

The Marion Campus Library is part of The Ohio State University Libraries and and the state-wide system OhioLINK. 

Local catalog

OhioLINK catalog

Remote access is not available for the databases and other electronic materials in the catalogs.

 

Come visit!

Printing/Copying

The library is a pay-to-print facility.  That means if you want to print from our computer workstations or make a photocopy you will need to pay. 

The library is currently moving to a new printing system. Printing/Copying will be $.04 for black and white and $.15 for color.  You must pay for whatever you print. Visitors using personal laptops cannot print; you must print from a library computer.

Printing cards will be available for purchase at the Circulation Desk.  The circulation desk staff will be happy to assist you if needed.

Printing from our microfilm/microfiche reader is currently free.

Computers & Equipment

Library computers and equipment are provided for our students, faculty, and staff. They have priority of use.

  • Visitors may use computers and equipment if available, but will be asked to vacate a computer station if needed.
  • Visitors are expected to comply with posted policies regarding appropriate use. Violators will be prohibited from use.
  • Other equipment may be available for use in the library. Please ask circulation staff. 
  • Visitors wanting to use their personal laptops in the library can connect to WiFi@OSU (Note: Printing is not available with personal laptops)

Test Proctoring

If you need to have a test proctored for an online class, please contact:

    Brandy Page
    Marion Technical College
    Student Resource Center (SRC)
    pageb@mtc.edu  
    740-386-4173

Please note that there may be a test proctor fee assessed.

Educational Opportunities

The library regularly supports events and activities on campus as well as special community programs.  Please visit the  Ohio State University at Marion  or Marion Technical College  website for a listing of campus events.

In addition, the library provides exhibits and displays in the library which are open to the public and can conduct tours and talks for area schools, groups and clubs. Please contact library staff for more information.

Prairie Backpacks are available now to use!! An educational opportunity for families and children to learn more about the campus prairie!

    

The library is open to all who which to pursue life-long learning through the use of the library resources.  No identification or fee is necessary to use most library collections in-house but some special collections have restricted access. While the library's primary purpose is to serve the campus students, faculty, and staff, we do grant courtesy card privileges to the visiting community. 

Visitors are expected to comply with all posted and written library policies when using library materials and facilities.  The library reserves the right to prohibit access to the library to any individual who fails to comply with those policies.