This is the "Welcome to Warner Library" page of the "John L. & Christine Warner Library" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

John L. & Christine Warner Library  

Last Updated: May 11, 2013 URL: http://osu.campusguides.com/warner_library_cotc Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis

Welcome to Warner Library Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Search Warner Library Catalog

OhioLINK

Click here for off campus access to reference databases.

Go to OhioLINK Electronic Journal Center (EJC) for online journals. 

Need help with OhioLink? Check out the EJC Help and Tips page.

OhioLINK logo

 

About OhioLink

 

News

OhioLINK announces the launch of the OhioLINK Music Center (OMC), http://music.ohiolink.edu/, featuring more than 78,000 tracks and 21,000 works from the Naxos Music Library. Users can search for and listen to tracks in six genres -- Chinese music, classical music, opera, jazz, spoken word and world music -- with works from many well-known composers, including Bach, Handel, Beethoven, Chopin, Strauss, Copeland, and Ellington.

Access to the music files is restricted to the students, faculty and staff of OhioLINK member institutions, and off-campus access is available. Flash player is required. Catalog records for the albums should be available in the central catalog in the next few weeks.

For assistance gaining access to, or using the OhioLINK Music Center, please contact your OhioLINK library http://www.ohiolink.edu/members-info/


Mango Language Learning Center is now available through OhioLink

Mango is an online language-learning system that can help you learn languages like Spanish, French, Japanese, Brazilian Portuguese, German, Mandarin Chinese, Greek, Italian, Russian and more. It also offers English language lessons if English is not your first language. The system is divided into modules that have clear goals related to conversation and pronunciation. It uses a variety of teaching methods including flashcards, repetition, and cultural notes. It also contains a translation feature.

 

 

 

Check out Our Selected New Materials

Cover Art
A Little History of Science - William Bynum
Call Number: Q125 .B98 2012
ISBN: 9780300136593
Publication Date: 2012-11-06
Science is fantastic. It tells us about the infinite reaches of space, the tiniest living organism, the human body, the history of Earth. People have always been doing science because they have always wanted to make sense of the world and harness its power. From ancient Greek philosophers through Einstein and Watson and Crick to the computer-assisted scientists of today, men and women have wondered, examined, experimented, calculated, and sometimes made discoveries so earthshaking that people understood the world—or themselves—in an entirely new way. This inviting book tells a great adventure story: the history of science.

Cover Art
Business Gamification for Dummies - Kris Duggan; Kate Shoup
Call Number: HF5415.1265 .D84 2013
ISBN: 9781118466933
Publication Date: 2013-02-04
The easy way to grasp and use gamification concepts in business Gamification is a modern business strategy that leverages principles from games to influence favorable customer behavior on the web in order to improve customer loyalty, engagement, and retention. Gamification can be used by any department in a company (HR, Sales, Marketing, Engineering, Support, etc.), for any web-based experience (mobile, website, retail, community, etc.). Business Gamification For Dummies explains how you can apply the principles of this strategic concept to your own business model.

Cover Art
Essentials of Sonography and Patient Care - Marveen Craig
Call Number: RC78.7.U4 C68 2013
ISBN: 9781437735451
Publication Date: 2012-05-17
Providing a solid foundation in sonography, Essentials of Sonography and Patient Care, 3rd Edition prepares you to succeed in the classroom and in practice. It describes the origins and evolution of diagnostic medical sonography, and includes proven study techniques such as note taking, effective listening, and test-taking strategies. Addressing the clinical environment, this book covers topics such as taking a patients vital signs, safety considerations, body mechanics, patient transfer, infection control, emergency procedures, and assisting patients with special needs. Career discussions include the sonographers role in various clinical settings, ethics and professionalism, and job search and interview techniques. Written by expert sonographer Marveen Craig, Essentials of Sonography and Patient Care points you toward a sound future in sonography.

Cover Art
Home Is Where the School Is - Jennifer Lois
Call Number: LC40 .L65 2013
ISBN: 9780814752517
Publication Date: 2012-12-17
Mothers who homeschool their children constantly face judgmental questions about their choices, and yet the homeschooling movement continues to grow with an estimated 1.5 million American children now schooled at home. These children are largely taught by stay-at-home mothers who find that they must tightly manage their daily schedules to avoid burnout and maximize their relationships with their children, and that they must sustain a desire to sacrifice their independent selves for many years in order to savor the experience of motherhood.Home Is Where the School Is is the first comprehensive look into the lives of homeschooling mothers. Drawing on rich data collected through eight years of fieldwork and dozens of in-depth interviews, Jennifer Lois examines the intense effects of the emotional and temporal demands that homeschooling places on mothers’ lives, raising profound questions about the expectations of modern motherhood and the limits of parenting.

Cover Art
Hospice Social Work - Dona J. Reese
Call Number: HV3001.A4 R44 2013
ISBN: 9780231134347
Publication Date: 2013-02-26
The first text to explore the history, characteristics, and challenges of hospice social work, this volume weaves leading research into an underlying framework for practice and care. A longtime practitioner, Dona J. Reese describes the hospice social work role in assessment and intervention with individuals, families, groups, organizations, and the community, while honestly confronting the personal and professional difficulties of such life-changing work. She introduces a well-tested model of psychosocial and spiritual variables that predict hospice client outcomes, and she advances a social work assessment tool to document their occurrence. Operating at the center of national leaders' coordinated efforts to develop and advance professional organizations and guidelines for end-of-life care, Reese reaches out with support and practice information, helping social workers understand their significance in treating the whole person, contributing to the cultural competence of hospice settings, and claiming a definitive place within the hospice team.

Cover Art
I Speak for Myself - Maria M. Ebrahimji (Editor); Zahra T. Suratwala (Editor)
Call Number: BP67.A1 I2 2011
ISBN: 9781935952008
Publication Date: 2011-05-17
40 women under the age of 40, born and raised in the United States, dismantle stereotypes of what it means to be a Muslim woman in America.Muslim American women are the subject of endless discussions regarding their role in society, their veils as symbols of oppression or of freedom, their identity, their patriotism, their womanhood. Yet the voices and life experiences of Muslim American women themselves are rarely heard in the loud rhetoric surrounding the question of Muslims in America. Finally, in 'I Speak for Myself,' 40 American women under the age of 40, share their experiences of their lives as Muslim women in America.

Cover Art
Many Faces, One Purpose: a Manager's Handbook on Women in Firefighting - U.S. Department of Homeland Security; U.S. Fire Administration
Call Number: R118 .H69 2012
ISBN: 9781484192658
Publication Date: 2013-04-24
This book was developed to help the fire service leader manage the changing fire service workforce as it becomes progressively more inclusive of larger numbers of women in all ranks. It offers guidance and suggestions from people with experience and expertise, and provides choices and options more often than single "right" answers.

Cover Art
New Orleans: a Food Biography - Ken Albala (Foreword by); Elizabeth M. Williams
Call Number: TX715.2.L68 W546 2013
ISBN: 9780759121362
Publication Date: 2012-12-19
Beignets, Po’ Boys, gumbo, jambalaya, Antoine’s. New Orleans’ celebrated status derives in large measure from its incredibly rich food culture, based mainly on Creole and Cajun traditions. At last, this world-class destination has its own food biography. Elizabeth M. Williams, a New Orleans native and founder of the Southern Food and Beverage Museum there, takes readers through the history of the city, showing how the natural environment and people have shaped the cooking we all love. The narrative starts by describing the indigenous population and material resources, then reveals the contributions of the immigrant populations, delves into markets and local food companies, and finally discusses famous restaurants, drinking culture, cooking at home and cookbooks, and signature foods dishes. This must-have book will inform and delight food aficionados and fans of the Big Easy itself.

Cover Art
Planning for Play, Observation, and Learning in Preschool and Kindergarten - Gaye Gronlund
Call Number: LB1140.35.P55 G76 2013
ISBN: 9781605541136
Publication Date: 2012-12-11
Learning can happen during every minute of a child’s day when you plan and teach with intention. This how-to resource provides four planning and reflecting frameworks to help you bring engaging experiences into your classroom.

Cover Art
Professional Nursing Concepts - Anita Finkelman; Carole Kenner
Call Number: RT82 .F535 2013
ISBN: 9781449649029
Publication Date: 2012-01-06
Professional Nursing Concepts: Competencies for Quality Leadership, Second Edition takes a patient-centered, traditional approach to the topic of nursing education and professional development. This dynamic text engages students in recognizing the critical role that nurses play in health care delivery, and focuses on the five core competencies for health professions as determined by the Institute of Medicine (IOM). The book is divided into four sections:*The Profession of Nursing*The Healthcare Context*Core Healthcare Professional Competencies*The Practice of Nursing TodayTwo new chapters are included in this edition:*Health Promotion, Disease Prevention, and Illness: A Community Perspective*The Future: Transformation of Nursing Practice Through Leadership

Cover Art
Rethinking Pedagogy for a Digital Age - Helen Beetham (Editor); Rhona Sharpe (Editor)
Call Number: LB1028.5 .R44 2013
ISBN: 9780415539968
Publication Date: 2013-04-10
Through a critical discussion of the issues surrounding the design, sharing and reuse of learning activities, the second edition of Rethinking Pedagogy for a Digital Ageexamines a wide range of perspectives on effectively designing and delivering learning activities to ensure that future development is pedagogically sound, learner-focused, and accessible. This powerful book: • examines the reality of design in practice • shares tools and resources to guide practice • analyses design within complex systems • discusses the influence of open resources on design • includes design principles for mobile learning • explores practitioner development in course teams • presents scenarios for design for learning in an uncertain future Illustrated by case studies from across disciplines and supported by a helpful appendix of tools and resources for researchers, practitioners and teachers, the second edition of Rethinking Pedagogy for a Digital Ageis an essential guide to designing for 21st Century learning.

Cover Art
Revolutions That Made the Earth - Tim Lenton; Andrew Watson
Call Number: QH343.4 .L46 2011
ISBN: 9780199587049
Publication Date: 2011-03-20
The Earth that sustains us today was born out of a few remarkable, near-catastrophic revolutions, started by biological innovations and marked by global environmental consequences. The revolutions have certain features in common, such as an increase in complexity, energy utilization, and information processing by life. This book describes these revolutions, showing the fundamental interdependence of the evolution of life and its non-living environment. We would not exist unlessthese upheavals had led eventually to 'successful' outcomes - meaning that after each one, at length, a new stable world emerged.The current planet-reshaping activities of our species may be the start of another great Earth system revolution, but there is no guarantee that this one will be successful. The book explains what a successful transition through it might look like, if we are wise enough to steer such a course.This book places humanity in context as part of the Earth system, using a new scientific synthesis to illustrate our debt to the deep past and our potential for the future.

Cover Art
Right College, Right Price - Frank Palmasani
Call Number: LB2350.5 .P365 2013
ISBN: 9781402273797
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
In the midst of a $1 trillion student loan debt crisis, students and their families have had the same question on their minds: Can I afford to pay for a college education? Good news: the answer is yes. By shifting the way we think about the college search, every family can find the right college at the right price. Right College, Right Price helps you discover the real cost of a college (after scholarships, work study, loans, etc.) before you even begin to apply-saving you hundreds of dollars in application fees and thousands of dollars in tuition. This guide will walk you through simple, but powerful, steps of the Financial Fit program, which will allow you to: #149; Calculate exactly how much you can afford to spend on college. #149; Find great colleges you can afford. #149; Understand the ins and outs of the financial aid process. #149; Choose the right college and avoid excessive debt. With Right College, Right Price , your student will not only have access to a college education, but also a life after college-without the burden of excessive student loan debt.

Cover Art
The Grammar of Rock - Alexander Theroux
Call Number: ML3470 .T47 2013
ISBN: 9781606996164
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
National Book Award nominee, critic and one of America's least compromising satirists, Alexander Theroux takes a comprehensive look at the colorful language of pop lyrics and the realm of rock music in general in The Grammar of Rock: silly song titles; maddening instrumentals; shrieking divas; clunker lines; the worst (and best) songs ever written; geniuses of the art; movie stars who should never have raised their voice in song but who were too shameless to refuse a mic; and the excesses of awful Christmas recordings. Praising (and critiquing) the gems of lyricists both highbrow and low, Theroux does due reverence to classic word-masters like Ira Gershwin, Jimmy Van Heusen, Cole Porter, and Sammy Cahn, lyricists as diverse as Hank Williams, Buck Ram, the Moody Blues, and Randy Newman, Dylan and the Beatles, of course, and more outré ones like the Sex Pistols, the Clash, Patti Smith, the Fall (even Ghostface Killa), but he considers stupid rhymes, as well - nonsense lyrics, chop logic, the uses and abuses of irony, country music macho, verbal howlers, how voices sound alike and why, and much more.

Cover Art
The Graphic Designer's Business Survival Guide - Lawrence J. Daniels
Call Number: NC1001 .D36 2013
ISBN: 9780814432419
Publication Date: 2012-12-12
Graphic design is a crowded, highly competitive world. And it takes a lot more than raw talent and technical ability to make it as an independent designer. Successful graphic designer and entrepreneur, Larry Daniels exposes the weak spot of so many: the critical business side of running even a one-person design firm. Designers often prioritize aesthetics over a client's needs, and ignore basic business skills such as writing, record keeping, and relationship building. This practical insider's guide explains how to build a profitable, sustainable design business.

Cover Art
The Oxford Handbook of Criminological Theory - Francis T. Cullen (Editor); Pamela Wilcox (Editor)
Call Number: HV6025 .O868 2012
ISBN: 9780199747238
Publication Date: 2013-03-01
Criminological theory texts typically follow a conventional format. Diverse writings are neatly packaged into schools of thought, which are given clear labels and conveyed a chapter at a time, with topics like control theory in one chapter and strain theory in another. The Oxford Handbook of Criminological Theory takes a different approach across the criminological landscape. The volume is organized not around schools of thought but around themes that shape much thinking about and research on crime. This more unconventional approach seeks to show thatcriminological theory is not static but dynamic.

Cover Art
Understanding Somalia and Somaliland - Ioan M. Lewis; Michael J. Dwyer (Contribution by); Ioan Lewis; A. S. C. A. P.
Call Number: DT403 .L42 2008
ISBN: 9780231700849
Publication Date: 2008-10-14
Ioan Lewis details the history and culture of the Somali people, providing a unique window into this little-known culture and its increasingly public predicaments. He provides insight into the complex social, historical, and cultural hinterland that is the Somali heritage and pays close attention to the pervasive influence of traditional nomadism, especially its decentralized nature. Lewis also addresses developments in the Somali political region since the collapse of the Republic in 1991, including the formation and steady development of the democratic state of Somaliland. Though it has grown into a de facto personality, this self-governing outpost of democracy is still officially unrecognized internationally. Lewis concludes with a discussion of the Islamist movement that brought a brief but astonishing period of stability to much of Southern Somalia in late 2006.

Cover Art
What the Best College Students Do - Ken Bain
Call Number: LA229 .B24 2012
ISBN: 9780674066649
Publication Date: 2012-08-27
The author of the best-selling book What the Best College Teachers Do is back with more humane, doable, and inspiring help, this time for students who want to get the most out of college and every other educational enterprise, too.

Cover Art
Wise Women - C. M. E. P. Turner
Call Number: E98.W8 W57 2009
ISBN: 9780762755387
Publication Date: 2009-09-18
The story of Pocahontas saving John Smith is justly famous, and Sarah Winnemucca earned fame by being a champion of her people as the old ways of life were disappearing. But there are lesser known stories of the Native American women who shaped both their cultures and American history. This book brings together these amazing stories.

 

Contact Us:

John L. & Christine Warner Library
Central Ohio Technical College
1179 University Dr.
Newark, OH 43055
 
For Reference Help:
740-366-9306
740-366-9308
 
Call Us:
Circulation: 740:366-9307
Serials: 740-755-7719
Administration: 740-364-9513
 

Ask Us

We are online during library hours.

 

Tell Us What You Think

It's important to us that we provide quality information and services. Please leave your comments and suggestions.

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip