Skip to main content

John L. & Christine Warner Library: About Us

The John L. & Christine Warner Library

The Newark Campus Warner Library, located on the main floor of the John L. and Christine Warner Library and Student Center, serves the students, faculty and staff of Ohio State University at Newark as well as the students, faculty and staff of Central Ohio Technical College.

As such, it delivers the full gamut of library resources and services including but not limited to reference service, library instruction, collaboration areas, interlibrary loan, reserves, laptop computers, and database access.

The Library houses about:
45,000 print volumes, 170 serial subscriptions, 1800 videos and DVDs, and 1,200 maps.

As part of the Ohio State University library system and the OhioLINK consortium, the Library provides access to  millions of books and other library materials, many research databases, millions of electronic journal articles, thousands of e-books, images, video and sounds, as well as thousands of theses and dissertations from Ohio students. 

Warner Library Staff

 

John L. & Christine Warner Library Staff

 

Katie Blocksidge, Library Director
On Campus:  649513  Off Campus: 740-364-9513 kblocksi@cotc.edu
Office: Warner Center 171
 
Hanna Primeau, Reference and Instruction Librarian
On Campus:  69308  Off Campus: 740-366-9308 primeau.8@cotc.edu
Office: Warner Center 169
 
John D. Crissinger, Reference and Special Collections Librarian
On Campus:  69306  Off Campus: 740-366-9306 jcrissin@cotc.edu
Office: Warner Center 169
 
Shawn Brookbank, Cataloger; Evening Circulation Supervisor  
On Campus: 69183  Off Campus: 740-366-9183 sbrookba@cotc.edu
 
Tauni GrahamReserves; Interlibrary Loan; Circulation Supervisor    
On Campus: 49501  Off Campus: 740-364-9501 tgraham@cotc.edu
 
Library Fax 740-366-9264

Warner Library Pictures

 

Welcome to the John L. and Christine Warner Library at the Newark Campus.  Come sit by the fire and read a newspaper or magazine, study at a table or in a comfy chair or in our state-of-the-art classroom.  Check out a laptop computer to use in our wireless environment, work in one of our study rooms, or meet together in spaces designed for group collaboration.  Librarians and staff members are available to assist students, faculty and community members in their research and other library needs. 

Warner Library Policies

Laptop Checkout  Laptops can be checked out from the Library for 4 hours with a fine of $10 for every hour that it is overdue. Also available for use with the laptops are a/c wall chargers, mice, and headphones. All of which are checked out for 4 hours and have a $10 per hour fine for every hour they are overdue.

Printing in the Library
Students must use their BuckID/Campus ID to use the pay-to-print printers available in the library.

Contact Us:

John L. & Christine Warner Library
Central Ohio Technical College
1179 University Dr.
Newark, OH 43055
 
For Reference Help:
740-366-9306
740-366-9308
 
Call Us:
Circulation: 740:366-9307
Administration: 740-364-9513

Hours

Academic Year:

Monday – Thursday: 8:00 am – 10:00 pm

Friday: 8:00 am – 5:00 pm

Saturday: Closed

Sunday: 1:00 pm – 5:00 pm

 

Semester Breaks:

Monday – Friday 8:00 am – 5:00 pm
Saturday & Sunday Closed

 

Summer Hours:

Monday-Thursday 8:00 am - 9:00 pm
Friday
                    8:00 am - 5:00 pm
Saturday
                   Closed
Sunday              1:00 pm – 5:00 pm

Summer Breaks: 

Monday – Friday 8:00 am – 5:00 pm
Saturday & Sunday Closed


Holidays  Closed:

New Year’s Day
Martin Luther King Jr. Day
Memorial Day
Independence Day
Labor Day
Veterans Day
Thanksgiving
Friday after Thanksgiving
Christmas

Holiday Closings may vary - please contact the library for specific dates.

Getting Involved

Employment Opportunities

Student Library Assistant positions are advertised at Financial Aid 740-364-9364 in Hopewell Hall Rm. 135.

Regular full and part time staff positions are advertised through Human Resources 740-364-9367 in Founders Hall room 1024.

Gifts to the Warner Library

The Newark Campus Warner Library welcomes gifts and donations that support the teaching, research, and other academic needs of our students and researchers. Campus and community supporters continue to enrich the Library's holdings through generous donations of books and other materials.

Library Services

Library Services

  • Reference Services 
  • Library Instruction
  • Interlibrary loans
  • Disability Services
  • Photo copying
Special collections:
  • Map Collections
  • Newark Earthworks
  • COTC and Ohio State Newark Archives
Computer Access and Printing:
We offer:
  • Wi-Fi Internet access
  • Desktop computers and Lap tops available for checkout
Computer detailed: All library computers have Microsoft Office Suite 2010 installed; we have two computer stations, one PC and one Mac station, with Adobe Design Premium CS5 suite installed
 
Media Center:
  • Viewing Station with DVD, VHS, and Music players
  • DVD Collections
  • Music CD & Cassette Collections
  • Audiobook Collections
  • VHS Collections
Collections are available for checkout
 
Also available for check out:
  • High definition video recorders
  • Digital Cameras
  • TI 84 Graphing Calculators
  • TI 34 Calculators
 

Library Displays